new gaba logo
The U.S. Will Continue to Keep Travel Restrictions in Place

The U.S. Will Continue to Keep Travel Restrictions in Place

travel restrictions update

Because of growing COVID-19 cases in the United States and throughout the world caused by the delta variant, the United States will not lift travel restrictions just yet.

Countries affected by the travel restrictions are:

  • China
  • Iran
  • The European Schengen Area*
  • The United Kingdom**
  • The Republic of Ireland
  • Brazil
  • South Africa
  • India

The travel restrictions against these countries were set in place in March 2020 by President Trump, and reinstated by President Biden in January, once he took office.

The decision to keep the travel restrictions in place comes just over a month after the European Union added the United States to their list of recommended countries where travel restrictions should be gradually lifted. That list is not legally binding, but rather a suggestion which each member state of the E.U. decides on their own to implement or not.

Just last week, the United States also extended their land border restrictions on nonessential travel to Canada and Mexico through August 21st, even though Canada is planning on reopening its borders to vaccinated Americans on August 9th.

Many are unhappy with the decision to keep travel restrictions in place, citing the high vaccination rates as a reason for easing restrictions. German Chancellor Angela Merkel implored President Biden to lift the U.S. travel restrictions during her trip to Washington D.C. on July 15th.

Many travel industry executives also have pleaded with the White House to lift travel restrictions, including the CEOs of Delta Airlines and American Airlines.

It is currently unclear how long it will be until the United States lifts its travel restrictions.

How to Travel to the United States Despite Travel Restrictions

The National Interest Exception (NIE) still seems to be the best way for many people to travel to the U.S. despite the travel restrictions if they fit the criteria. To learn more about the NIE and how to obtain one, click here.

If you would like to get in contact with our U.S. immigration team, email us at

Subscribe to our newsletter for more up-to-date information about immigration, international business, law, and more!

* Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City

** England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland